Results from Gothenburg Racketlon World Open 2002
Date: 2002-11-05


The full results from World Open, recognized by the International Racketlon Federation as the official Racketlon World Championships of year 2002, can now be found through the links below.

(Please report printing mistakes to !)

National Team Event
Ladies Elite
Ladies Amateurs
Men Elite
Men Class 1
Men Amateurs
Men Veterans

Plate tournaments:
Men Elite
Men Class 1
Men Amateurs
International Plate


A few notes:

- The pages are readable with Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 or Netscape 6. We cannot guarantee that other browsers will work. We know for a fact that it will not work at all in Netscape 4! (The blunt advice to you who only get a text list of names instead of a standard graphically laid out match schedule when you click the links above is simply: Download a modern browser!)

- All draws are designed to fit into one A4 page. But you may need to adjust your print margins (File->Page Setup in Microsoft Internet Explorer)

- No indication of nationality implies that the player is Swedish

- Bold format indicates that a player has been seeded. In general, the following principles have been applied:

Seed #1 has been placed on top of the draw. Seed #2 at the bottom.
The mutual postions of seed #3 and #4 have been decided through the drawing of lots.
The mutual positions of seed #5-8 have also been decided through the drawing of lots.
Other players have been positioned through the drawing of lots.

- A few extra conditions were applied to the Men's Elite Class:

The two participating Finns (identical to last year's finalists) were placed on different halves.
The top Swede, the top Finn, the top French and the top Brit were placed so that they cannot knock each other out before the semifinal.

8 people were seeded in accordance with the latest IRF World Racketlon Ranking:

1. (1) Mikko Kärkkäinen (FIN)
2. (2) Magnus Eliasson (SWE)
3. (3) Roland Helle (SWE)
4. (4) Toni Kemppinen (FIN)
5. (5) Ari-Matti Koskinen (FIN)
6. (6) Mats Källberg (SWE)
7. (-) Stefan Adamsson (SWE)
8. (8) Harri Suutarinen (FIN)
9. (7) Stefan Larsson (SWE)
10. (-) Nicolas Sene (FRA)

In addition, 4 challengers were identified. These are:

David Lazarus (Britain's #1)
Joakim Sandberg (Swedish #6)
Ola Carleke (Swedish #14)
Mika Hasmats (Swedish 8)

These challengers were placed so that they have a chance to challenge seeds #5-8 about a place in the quarter final. Their mutual postions were decided through the drawing of lots.